A Different Perspective #3- “Basic Transportation”

3-3Last week, my car decided to die. Well….. It decided to not die. I couldn’t get the the thing to shut off! I mean, the engine would turn off, but the battery and accessories would all still be on, and the key wouldn’t come out of the ignition. So, my wonderful parents came over and picked it up, and my dad disconnected the battery. He reconnected it to take it to our mechanic, and then the engine wouldn’t shut off! (According to my mom, apparently that’s the fastest way to get a mechanic to look at your car… pull up, and inform them it won’t turn off.)

So! That left my without a car for the week. It’s not too much of an inconvenience… Except for the navy band concert, which you’ll recall I did security for. To get there, I ended up walking 15 blocks to get down there. And believe it or not, this wasn’t the first time I had done it! The last few photos featured in February (Graffiti of Greeley) were when I trekked downtown on foot to get photos.

Lots of walking!

It made me really appreciate the ease of travel that my car gives me. It made me appreciate even more my own two feet. I did a few months of therapy for my bad ankle, and it’s been doing much better. So the walk was easier than it would have been.

Then, yesterday, I had donated blood at the hospital. Aubrey came and picked me up so we could get some dinner, and to make a long story short, I ended up having to walk 8 blocks to go pick up my car later in the evening. What would have been a nuisance was actually a nice, relaxing walk.

I took a new perspective on my transportation.

 

 

Leave a Reply

