Day 214- “Cicada”

I was just walking along, minding my own business, when I looked down and saw this bug on the sidewalk. I nudged it with my foot and found that it was dead. So, I took a picture on my phone and sent it to my sister. She is getting her undergraduate in Zoology, and usually she can identify whatever animal, bug or bird I throw at her. (And when she can’t do it, it’s because the photo quality on my phone is bad!) So I sent this to her, and she immediately responded that it was a cicada. I was holding it in my hand by this point and asked if she wanted me to save it for her. I should have guessed the answer! She was very excited; apparently cicadas are hard to catch, and I lucked out on finding such a well preserved one. So, I took it home and snapped a picture of it. It really is very pretty!

My sister, speaking of which, has this great website that you should check out. Her studies of animals and nature are to her what music and photography and Star Wars are to me. 😉 Check it out!

http://thewildsideblog.com/

One thought on “Day 214- “Cicada”

Leave a Reply

