Day 194- “Hamburger Helper”

Tonight I decided that I would have Hamburger Helper. I always loved it when my mom would make it for us as kids. Even though mine tasted pretty good, it still doesn’t compare to my mom’s. She’s some sort of magician when it comes to cooking. I suppose it’ll be the same for my kids someday if I have any. Before that though I would have to find a husband.

On a completely unrelated note, everyone knows that I’m a huge fan of Star Wars. If you are a follower of my blog and still haven’t figured that out, then you have failed me for the last time. (Yay movie quotes!) Either way, I need to find a guy whose last name is Walker, so I can name my son Luke Skye. Luke Skye Walker. I know, it is spelled different, but when you say it…. Yeah, my son is either going to love me or hate me. Or I could name my kid John William Walker/Insert last name here. John Williams is the man. If you have no clue what I’m talking about, then stop whatever you’re doing and go listen to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lk5_OSsawz4

So it turns out that one of our graduate assistants to the band was a part of Moosebutter, the group that wrote and originally performed this, and is one of the writers of the piece. I know so many awesome people at UNC.

So yeah. Someday, Luke Skye Walker and John Williams Walker and X amount of other offspring of mine will eat my Hamburger Helper and think I am magical. I’m just using the Force is all. Ya know…. It never really shows the Jedi eating. In order of the movies, in the Phantom Menace, Obi Wan, Padme and Jar Jar eat at Anakin’s house with his mother. In the second movie, Attack of the Clones, Anakin and Padme eat together and Anakin cuts up a pear like thing for her to eat to show off his impressive Jedi powers. In the Revenge of the Sith, I don’t think anyone actually eats in that movie. In A New Hope, Luke eats for like three seconds with Uncle Owen and Aunt Beru before getting all whiney and leaving, which then has him walking outside and we see the double sunset and hear the most beautiful music to mankind played: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcZ9kQ1h-ZY. In The Empire Strikes Back, I’m pretty sure when Lando was taking Leia and Han to the conference room where they met with Darth Vader they were supposed to be going to dinner. Luke also eats for like two seconds at his camp and gets mad at Yoda (“Hey, that’s my dinner!”) and then eats Yoda’s crappy soup. In the Return of the Jedi, Jabba the Hutt is always eating, R2D2 serves drinks, the Rancor eats the froggy guy before Luke kills him with a  door, the Sarlacc gets to eat a bunch of people, Chewbacca tries to eat something that was in a trap, and of course the Ewoks try to serve Luke, Han, Chewy, and R2D2 to C3PO and Leia. So…. Mostly the Rancor and Sarlacc get to eat. Not our heroes of the tale.

I hope you enjoyed the impromptu Star Wars food lesson.

Leave a Reply

